Jo-Carroll Solid Waste Agency

Jo Daviess-Carroll Counties Joint Action Solid Waste Agency

The Jo Daviess-Carroll Counties Joint Action Solid Waste Agency  (JD/CC SWA) coordinates special waste and recycling collections, public education, and also issues permits to solid waste haulers operating in Jo Daviess and/or Carroll Counties.  The SWA also collaborates with other local governmental units and citizen outreach groups interested in staging recycling collections open to the general public. Please call 815-718-0238 or email with recycling questions and for more information.

The public is invited to attend the quarterly SWA Board meetings, held on the 4th Thursday of January, April, July, and October at 7:00 p.m. at the Jo Daviess County Highway Department, 1 Commercial Drive, Hanover, IL.

Contact Information:

Jo Daviess/Carroll Solid Waste Agency
301 North Main Street
Mt. Carroll, IL 61053

Mark Maidak, Agency Coordinator

Agency Board Composition

  • Eight Directors comprise the Agency Board
  • Four Directors are appointed by each County's respective County Board Chair

Carroll County Directors

  • Ken Sandy
  • Kevin Reibel, Board Treasurer
  • Les Guenzler, Board Vice Chairperson
  • (Director Vacancy)

Jo Daviess County Directors

  • Dale Roberts
  • Michael Holt, Board Secretary
  • Justin Penoyer
  • Robert Spoerl, Board Chairperson

Quarterly Board Meetings

The Agency Board meets four times a year on the fourth Thursday of January, April, July and October Starting at 7:00 PM.

Board Meeting Location

Jo Daviess County Highway Department Building
1 Commercial Drive
Hanover, IL 61041