Sheriff's Merit Commission

  • Mary Vincent, Chair
  • Steve Meyer, Vice-Chair
  • Julie Mark Helman, Secretary
  • Jim Boho
  • Michael Kuzniar
The Jo Daviess County Sheriff's Merit Commission was established in 1986 by an ordinance (Title 3, Chapter 1) adopted by the Jo Daviess County Board.  The commission is composed of five members, a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary.  The commission meets quarterly and also tests and screens applicants for positions with the Sheriff's Office.

The duties of the commission are to accept applications and to screen applicants through written examinations, physical examinations, interviews, background investigations, reputation, character, and employment records.  Upon successfully qualifying applicants, the commission prepares an eligibility list for the Sheriff's use in hiring sworn personnel.

The commission also tests Sheriff's personnel for promotions and holds hearings on members of the Sheriff's Office when complaints have been filed on violations of the Sheriff's policies.